The George H. Mealy Post #118

P.O. Box 118
Cohasset, MA 02025

The George H. Mealy Post #118 is located on Summer Street in Cohasset, MA. The George H. Mealy Post which has a membership of over 300, most of which is drawn from Cohasset and other surrounding communities. It is dedicated to the principles outlined in the Preamble of the Constitution of the American Legion, which were first put forth by the founding fathers of the American Legion who met in Paris, France in 1919. The Constitution of the American Legion is as follows:

“For God and Country we associate ourselves together for the following purposes: To uphold and defend the Constitution of the United States of America; To maintain law and order; To foster and perpetuate a one hundred percent Americanism; To preserve the memories and incidents of our associations in the great wars; To inculcate a sense of individual obligation to the community, state and nation; To combat the autocracy of both the classes and the masses; To make right the master of might; To promote peace and good-will on earth; To safeguard and transmit to posterity the principles of justice, freedom and democracy; To consecrate and sanctify our comradeship by our devotion to mutual helpfulness.”

The George H. Mealy Post actively supports these principles by community service involvement and veteran support through a number of local initiatives. Over the last ten years, the Post has provided over $150,000 in scholarships, supported local youth athletic teams and donated to other worthy national and local causes. The Post remains active in veteran outreach programs and participates in numerous programs that keep alive the memories of sacrifices that veterans have made to keep this country free. The Post stands fast in affirming the principles of citizen soldiery by our support and dedication to those who now guard the gates to freedom.

The George H. Mealy Post #118 officers are as follows:

  •              Commander Steve Wigmore
  •              Vice Commander Robert Jackson
  •              2nd Vice Commander Larry Sousa
  •              Finance Officer Jack Burke
  •              Adjutant Ralston Jones
  •              Chaplin Charles Daly
  •              Sgt. At Arms Alex Mingham
  •              Historian Frank Hamilton
  •              Judge Advocate Donald McCormack
  •              Service Officer Thomas Gorman

Executive Board members:

  •              Joseph Dolan
  •              John Green
  •              Leo Kurtz
  •              Duncan McCormack
  •              Jerome McDonald